What's New Home Forum Top
Supporter Rides
Register
Welcome to InfinitiScene.com - Home for Infiniti crossover owners and enthusiasts!
Welcome to InfinitiScene.com!

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, and are only allowed limited access to the forum. Why not register on our forums and gain the extra benefits that our regular members enjoy?
Here are a few of the many reasons why you should join our site...

  • Registraion is free.
  • You will be able to post, message, and interact with other members.
  • Our forum is full of friendly, knowledgeable members and staff.
  • Plenty of money saving opportunities from write-ups to maintenance help.
  • Our members experience fewer Ads.
  • You can earn a free virtual garage/gallery.
  • Plus much more!

Registration is fast, free, and easy, so stop being just a guest and become one of our newly registered members today!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Houston
    RiSC
    TXFX
    Posts
    140
    Ride
    2005 FX35 AWD
    Thanks Given
    0
    Thanks Received: 
    0

    Wheels / Suspension Tire Pressure Monitor

    Hey guys its been a long time......... Hope all is well!!!!

    Quick question? How can you tell which tire is in need of air from the onboard interface? Its very frustrating and confusing.

    Thanks in advance!!!:tup:

    DD-



    Register

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Austintatious, TX
    RiSC
    TXFX
    Posts
    2,934
    Ride
    2005 FX35 RWD
    Thanks Given
    4
    Thanks Received: 
    11
    don't think you can do that from the interface. original pattern is
    driver front
    passenger front
    passenger rear
    driver rear
    goes out of whack once they are switched back and forth. best practice is to grab a gauge and work on the tires individually. i do it once a week. 5 mins.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    RiSC
    NEFX
    Posts
    3,923
    Ride
    2008 FX35 AWD
    Thanks Given
    61
    Thanks Received: 
    57
    Is there a way to program the TPMS yourself instead of taking it to the Infiniti Dealer?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    NYC
    RiSC
    TSFX
    Posts
    5,167
    Ride
    2006 FX35 AWD
    Thanks Given
    31
    Thanks Received: 
    213
    has to be reprogrammed using the Nissan Consult II unit, best to shop between your local nissan or infiniti dealers

    unless u have money to burn: http://aetools.us/nissanconsult2.html
    Last edited by soonster; 09-26-2011 at 09:04 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    RiSC
    MWFX
    Posts
    6,115
    Ride
    2003 FX45
    Thanks Given
    96
    Thanks Received: 
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by soonster View Post
    has to be reprogrammed using the Nissan Consult II unit, best to shop between your local nissan or infiniti dealers

    unless u have money to burn: http://aetools.us/nissanconsult2.html
    my local mechanic just bought one, I think he didn't pay that much for it, but he did say it was expensive.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    RiSC
    NEFX
    Posts
    3,923
    Ride
    2008 FX35 AWD
    Thanks Given
    61
    Thanks Received: 
    57
    Ok so I bought the FX50 rims and it comes with sensors. The thing I noticed is that it appears the TPMS have not registered with the FX. The light has not even popped up showing that they need to be reprogrammed. And when I check on the tire pressure on the navigation screen only **** show up. I wonder what happened?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    RiSC
    MWFX
    Posts
    6,115
    Ride
    2003 FX45
    Thanks Given
    96
    Thanks Received: 
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by ocal21 View Post
    Ok so I bought the FX50 rims and it comes with sensors. The thing I noticed is that it appears the TPMS have not registered with the FX. The light has not even popped up showing that they need to be reprogrammed. And when I check on the tire pressure on the navigation screen only **** show up. I wonder what happened?
    You have a 2003-2008 FX.

    Uses sensor: 40700-CD001

    2009+ FX's use: 40700-1LA0B

    What does that mean? They are difference frequencies. You have to remove the old sensors and put in the correct sensors.

    Also, they don't register automatically. You have to go to the dealer or somewhere with a Consult II to program.

    Your car is registered to your previous wheel TPMS. They can't be registered to more than 1 set at a time.

  8.    The Following User Says Thank You to Chedman13 For This Useful Post:

    ocal21 

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    658
    Ride
    Other
    Thanks Given
    6
    Thanks Received: 
    18
    I have two working sensors that were " rebuilt " by discount tires. for sale if needed.
    I sold my old wheels to a nonnissan owner, sold 2 already so if u need one let me know.

    - tapatalk

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    RiSC
    MWFX
    Posts
    6,115
    Ride
    2003 FX45
    Thanks Given
    96
    Thanks Received: 
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by TurTLeG View Post
    I have two working sensors that were " rebuilt " by discount tires. for sale if needed.
    I sold my old wheels to a nonnissan owner, sold 2 already so if u need one let me know.

    - tapatalk
    Yup, battery is good for like 5 years or more. And the rebuilt means it had the valve stems replaced so there is no leak.

    Too bad I just bought 4 or else I would take you up on this. You are local too.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    RiSC
    NEFX
    Posts
    3,923
    Ride
    2008 FX35 AWD
    Thanks Given
    61
    Thanks Received: 
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by Chedman13 View Post
    You have a 2003-2008 FX.

    Uses sensor: 40700-CD001

    2009+ FX's use: 40700-1LA0B

    What does that mean? They are difference frequencies. You have to remove the old sensors and put in the correct sensors.

    Also, they don't register automatically. You have to go to the dealer or somewhere with a Consult II to program.

    Your car is registered to your previous wheel TPMS. They can't be registered to more than 1 set at a time.
    Maybe that explains it why it does not show up event the orange tpms logo on the dash.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    RiSC
    MWFX
    Posts
    6,115
    Ride
    2003 FX45
    Thanks Given
    96
    Thanks Received: 
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by ocal21 View Post
    Maybe that explains it why it does not show up event the orange tpms logo on the dash.
    that will show up after X amount of miles. Maybe 20 miles of driving or so.

    It will beep once then just stay on. It'll turn off after you turn off the car.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Austintatious, TX
    RiSC
    TXFX
    Posts
    2,934
    Ride
    2005 FX35 RWD
    Thanks Given
    4
    Thanks Received: 
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Chedman13 View Post
    that will show up after X amount of miles. Maybe 20 miles of driving or so.
    35 miles to be exact. goes away when you restart the car.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    658
    Ride
    Other
    Thanks Given
    6
    Thanks Received: 
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Chedman13 View Post
    Yup, battery is good for like 5 years or more. And the rebuilt means it had the valve stems replaced so there is no leak.

    Too bad I just bought 4 or else I would take you up on this. You are local too.
    yea my 05 built in 04 sedan had both fronts go out at the SAME time... got them fixed and wondering about the rears but its been a year already. So i'm in the "or more" group. I really didn't mind the light but i did have a leak as well so i replaced the tire and sensor together.


    so did the replace my battery and stem or just stem? I think i paid $7 or 12 to have them rebuild it.

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    RiSC
    TXFX
    Posts
    2,416
    Ride
    2006 FX35 RWD
    Thanks Given
    55
    Thanks Received: 
    25
    I'm pretty sure it was just the stem

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    RiSC
    MWFX
    Posts
    6,115
    Ride
    2003 FX45
    Thanks Given
    96
    Thanks Received: 
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by KNFX View Post
    I'm pretty sure it was just the stem
    Yes, I have never heard of a battery replacement.

  17. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    RiSC
    MWFX
    Posts
    10,981
    Name
    Andy
    Ride
    2003 FX45
    Thanks Given
    231
    Thanks Received: 
    750
    I don't have TPM on my car, but have a question about them. I took off Andrew (Blueduck1105) tires for installing the H&R Springs two weeks ago. He's telling me that the TPM hasn't been working for all four tires since. It can only read from one tire? Any ideas?

  18. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    96
    Ride
    2005 FX35 AWD
    Thanks Given
    0
    Thanks Received: 
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by bleedingsujit View Post
    35 miles to be exact. goes away when you restart the car.

    I've always wondered about this too. So it goes away after you restart the car and comes back after another Continuous 35 miles?
    Last edited by FXradar; 09-28-2011 at 06:51 AM.

  19. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    RiSC
    MWFX
    Posts
    6,115
    Ride
    2003 FX45
    Thanks Given
    96
    Thanks Received: 
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by FXradar View Post
    I've always wondered about this too. So it goes away after you restart the car and comes back after another Continuous 35 miles?
    Yes, exactly.

    ---------- Post added at 09:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:17 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by la_fx35 View Post
    I don't have TPM on my car, but have a question about them. I took off Andrew (Blueduck1105) tires for installing the H&R Springs two weeks ago. He's telling me that the TPM hasn't been working for all four tires since. It can only read from one tire? Any ideas?
    TPMS in each tire sends out a signal to the car, where there is a sensor somewhere around the wheel well (I think). Each TPMS has a certain signal frequency and that frequency is linked with the ECU/Computer.

    That is then in turn displays the tire pressure.

    You can rotate all the wheels/tires and you are fine, just the order of what displays on your screen is different.

    If you remove the tires/wheels, then put it back on, there is nothing you did. The ECU/Computer is already synced to the TPMS in the wheel/tire.

    If you take off the tire/wheels and put them back on 1 month later, the ECU/Computer should still recognize them.

    So does all four display **** or do some show the tire pressure like 32 psi?

  20. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    RiSC
    TXFX
    Posts
    2,416
    Ride
    2006 FX35 RWD
    Thanks Given
    55
    Thanks Received: 
    25
    I am getting new tires put on later today but did not buy the 4 tpms rebuild kits. They are wanting $40 for all four from Discount Tire. Is this something that I should really just have done? Or should I be ok skipping it and saving the $40?

  21. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    RiSC
    MWFX
    Posts
    6,115
    Ride
    2003 FX45
    Thanks Given
    96
    Thanks Received: 
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by KNFX View Post
    I am getting new tires put on later today but did not buy the 4 tpms rebuild kits. They are wanting $40 for all four from Discount Tire. Is this something that I should really just have done? Or should I be ok skipping it and saving the $40?
    100% do it.

    You might end up with a leak if not. You really should change the valve stems every time you mount/dismount tires.

    If you do end up with a leak, you have to pay for them to dismount the tire, put in a new valve stem, then re-mount it.

    I buy the kits online in advance for like $2-$5, so $40 for 4 installed is not bad.


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [FX35 03-08] Tire pressure
    By HanJo Lee in forum FX (03-08) - Wheels & Suspension
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 05:57 PM
  2. Tire pressure sensor after tire rotation
    By sobi6111 in forum FX (03-08) - Electronics & Lighting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-19-2010, 03:53 PM
  3. What tire pressure do you keep in your tires?
    By paid4c4 in forum FX (03-08) - Wheels & Suspension
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2008, 07:56 PM
  4. 05 tire pressure work on 04?
    By Richardim in forum FX (03-08) - Wheels & Suspension
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 11:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:21 AM.